Plan Bay Area is best explained with maps & charts:

As illustrated by the maps below, Plan Bay Area has two primary land-use components.  Priority Development Areas (PDAs), located along transit corridors, are where 80% of Bay Area’s population is to live and work.  Priority Conservation Areas (PCAs) are designated open spaces.

Special Features of PDA’s:
Developer-financed and tax-payer financed subsidized housing.
Mixed-use multi-family projects.
Transit-oriented transportation.

Special Features of PCA’s
Open space, wildlife and plant habitats, aquatic ecosystems, agricultural lands, and urban green spaces.
Comprise nearly 95% of property, public and private, outside major transit corridors in major cities.
“Policy protected.” Limited development and use of property.

Legend in PDAs/PCAs Maps

Map PBA Legend2.jpg

Plan Bay Are 2040:  Update of original 2013 plan, released April 3, 2017.

Methodology of Plan Bay Area 2013 remains the same, but more emphasis is placed on mapping the Bay Area into three subregions:

Big 3 Cities – the Bay Area’s three largest cities: San Jose, San Francisco and Oakland.

Bayside – cities directly adjacent to the San Francisco Bay, including Hayward, San Mateo, San Rafael and Richmond.

Inland, Coastal and Delta – cities just outside of Bayside, such as Walnut Creek, Dublin, Santa Rosa, Antioch, Brentwood and Fairfield.

Plan Bay Area subregions